Hard to Resist a Hero Who Toes the Edge of Danger


Hard Ink (Series)
This review is from: October 16,2016 By Kay Daniels (Kindle Edition)

by Laura Kaye (Author)

This is another series that if you haven’t run across it yet, once you start you will be hooked for the entire ride. Laura Kaye crafted a brilliant story arc that grabs you from book one and makes you diving for the next book before you’ve barely put down the last. This is a series that you will want to read in order.

In Book one, Hard as it Gets, Becca Merritt walks into Hard Ink Tattoo with little to no information except to find a man named Rixey. This was a man whom her father trusted, it was his second in command. Little did she know that Nick Rixey hated his ex-commander. Nor did she know that her father was responsible for nearly getting Nick killed while at the same time destroying his military career. If she did she never would have sought out his help, even if he was her last hope of finding her missing brother.

Nick Rixey never thought he’d meet another Merritt, especially one who was cute, troubled, or desperate as Becca Merritt seemed. Nope, he was out of the hero business.  A new future lay ahead of him. The past was buried and he had no desire to dig up what really happened in the dessert. Did he? On second thought, or perhaps it was all the chatter his brother, Jeremy wouldn’t stop going on about, maybe Becca could help him reclaim what he had lost, while he helped her find her brother. Now if only his brother Jeremy would stop pestering him about doing the right thing.

You can’t help but fall for Jeremy and his outlandish t-shirt collection. It makes me wish Laura sold the t-shirts she wrote about. Marketing stop here I come. Anyway, it’s actually Jeremy’s tattoo shop and it becomes the central hub for all the action in every Hard Ink book.  You get to meet every main character as Nick has to eat quite a bit of crow by the end of book one. Personally, I think this is why the series grips you so hard, it touched on real issues while still living in a fiction world. I LOVED THAT! Laura Kaye was able to write a fantastic investigation/action/mercenary/HEA series while still keeping things grounded. It is A-MA-ZING! To say I couldn’t get enough is an understatement.

Hard Ink is a collection of five full length novels and two novellas. There are also two crossover novellas that begin two new series that branch off the Hard Ink series. So if you are like me and a hard core Laura Kaye fan who just can’t get enough, here is a list of the series in order.

Hard Ink Series
Hard as it Gets #1
Hard as You Can #2
Hard to Hold On To: A Hard Ink Novella 
Hard to Come By #3
Hard to Be Good: A Hard Ink Novella #3.5
Hard to Let Go
Hard as Steel: A Crossover Hard Ink/Raven Riders Novella 
Hard Ever After #5
Hard to Serve: A Crossover Hard Ink/Blasphemy Novella 

Ride Hard: Raven Riders (A new series breakoff from Hard Ink)

Bound to Submit: Blasphemy (A new series breakoff from Hard Ink)

Find several of Laura Kaye’s novels on Amazon, her latest book just released this past week, Laura Kaye-Bound to Submit: Blasphemy


Find more of my reviews on: http://www.amazon.com under kayreader
or on Goodreads under Kay Daniels


Published by


Blogger/Aspiring Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.