Book Reviews, Contemporary Romance, Year of Reviews - 2024

Review – My Dark Desire by LJ Shen and Parker S. Huntington

My Dark Desire; Dark Prince Road #2
(#2 within a series)

Publication Date: March 10, 2024

Genre/Tropes: Workplace/Opposites Attract/Fairytale Retelling/Billionaire/Age Gap/Forced Proximity Romance

Author: LJ Shen and Parker S. Huntington

Review Rating: 5 Gold Stars

Review/Synopsis:

Review:
Oh my heart!! All the amazing stars!! This book is so good and full of everything wonderful; warm fuzzies, heartfelt feels, blushing steamy romance, and a story where Cinderella doesn’t exactly find Prince Charming, but a broken man who becomes obsessed with his new maid. It’s chef’s 💋 perfection!

To say I’m obsessed with both Zach and Fae is an understatement. ❤️🥰 These two apart are well flushed out and very well written characters and together they explode on the page. They are yin and yang, but also two peas in a pod. I’m sorry to use two expressions in the same sentence that also mean two opposite things…let me explain. Farrow is charismatic to Zach’s robotic demeanor and yet they are both extremely intelligent, savvy, calculated, and fierce. They just haven’t had the same upbringings to allow them the same opportunities in life. It was fantastic to see the differences play out with their personalities while they navigated through this book.

Zach Sun is a cold, hard, unfeeling man, but upon meeting Farrow, for the first time in his life, he begins to feel things. To awaken from a lifetime of walking in a zombie like state. Fae is the literal walking medicine that appears to awaken him…to cure him… one touch at a time. However, Zach doesn’t “do emotions” so while their relationship builds under the contract that began with her employment under him, and of course lots of snarky quips, what they are really building is something so much more. 🔥😍🥰 The question remains if she’ll be able to leave with her heart intact once he’s cured.

Farrow has been fighting her entire life. Her spirit, her tenacity, her fire are just a few of the things Zach finds attractive in her. Along with her intelligence and strong willingness to remain independent those are just a few more. He’s drawn to Fae for everything that she is and I will admit she’s fantastic! The quirky comebacks she tosses out, the razor sharp wit she possesses when dealing with Zach is insanely hot and I have to say, there is nothing better than verbal foreplay as these two radiate towards a boiling point unlike anything I’ve ever read.

I have to add that the texting chapters, which are spread throughout the entire book, are a sprinkle of hilarious greatestness. Zach, Ollie, Romeo, Farrow, Dallas, and Ali all have the best jabs, comments, and sarcastic help 🤣 that constantly made me laugh.

While I haven’t read the first book in this series, and it’s not necessary for this book, I am now dying to go back and read it…1) I miss these characters already and 2) I simply want to read about Romeo and Dallas’ story because I need to know the tiny details.

Book Cover

Synopsis:

Welcome back to Dark Prince Road…where the weather is cold, but the men are colder. A tantalizing forbidden billionaire romance between a broken Prince Charming and a disgraced Cinderella.

She’s his sweetest desire…and his darkest secret.

From Wall Street Journal bestsellers Parker S. Huntington and L.J. Shen comes a tantalizing forbidden romance between a broken Prince Charming and a disgraced Cinderella.

The task was simple.
Sneak into Potomac’s most heavily guarded manor.
Steal back my pendant. Slip out.

Problem number one?
America’s most unattainable bachelor caught me.

Problem number two?
He decided to keep me. As the help.

Zachary Sun’s winter may be the coldest I’ve ever felt,
but he makes my skin burn.

Reserved, calculated, and savagely cruel,
he thrives on the weaknesses of others.

Little does he know, he just met his match.

He may be American royalty.
But this peasant will rise to become Queen.

What you will find inside…

🔥

Enemies to Lovers

🔥

Boss/Employee

🔥

Boy Obsessed

🔥

Forced Proximity

🔥

Standalone Romance

Book Cover

Find more of my reviews on Amazon under Kayreader
on Goodreads under Kay Daniels Romance
At Bookbub under Kayreader
or you can follow me on Facebook at Kay Daniels Romance

2 thoughts on “Review – My Dark Desire by LJ Shen and Parker S. Huntington”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.