Book Reviews, LGBTQA+, New Adult, Year of Reviews - 2024

Review – So Wrong by Abby Millsaps

So Wrong; Boys of South Chapel #1
(#1 within a series)

Publication Date: May 15, 2024

Genre/Tropes: New Adult/Second Chance/Reverse Harem Romance

Author: Abby Millsaps

Review Rating: 5 Gold Stars

Review/Synopsis:

Review:
A wild and emotional ride that flips back and forth between the past and present and had my heart in a vice by the end.

Hunter St. Clair is caught in the middle of some big emotional upheavals in her life. She is a girl caught between hard choices and between two men, which leave her swirling as her past clashes with her present in this gut wrenching first book.

Hunter left her entire world behind three years ago only returning when her father forces her to make a choice. Go to college or be cut off. Never imagining that her past would still be there, waiting and ready to stir up so many unopened emotions, Greedy and Levi. The two boys who both have her heart and her secrets all wrapped into one turmoil of unending pain.

Greedy, or Garrett – his legal name, has been waiting for Hunters’ return since the day she left. He’s never gotten over her, nor does he plan to. She’s the girl for him and he’ll wait a lifetime if he has to, but now that she’s back, it has to mean something. Because for him, she means everything.

Levi also left three years ago, but he’d always meant to leave. Staying was never an option, but he never meant to cut off communication with his best friend. Life grew complicated when Hunter basically vanished, but now all three of them are back and nothing is the same. Everything is different, feels different, and this time he isn’t letting her go.

This book is angsty, but I loved how this book progressed in pieces instead of as a whole. It allowed the story to build slowly,  as each chapter laid another piece of the puzzle on the board giving the picture time to form. I’m on pins and needles now as I can’t wait for the next book and what new piece of the puzzle will be laid out before us to solve. For instance, Levi, Greedy and Hunter are complicated in a totally messy, but really great way. I couldn’t choose between Greedy or Levi and was completely engaged in them, so I didn’t want the book to end and I’m glad their story will continue so I can have more time with all of them.

Synopsis:
No wrong moves.

Those were the words the first boy I ever loved whispered in my ear on graduation weekend.

Naively, I believed him. Now those three little words feel like a bad omen I can’t escape.

Every move I’ve made since I returned to South Chapel hurts my ex-boyfriend, Greedy. But it’s for his benefit. That’s what I tell myself. Intentionally hurting him is for the best.

It has to be. I said goodbye to the possibility of forever with him the moment my mom and his dad “introduced us” at their engagement dinner.

Three years have passed, but that doesn’t matter to Greedy. He’s hell-bent on making sure I remember it all.

On my darkest nights, the memories win. Since his bedroom is just two doors down, he’s the anchor I seek when it all feels like too much.

But now Greedy’s best friend is back in town, and he and I are “dating” to get his meddling mother off his back. Not only is Levi my new fake boyfriend, but he’s also our new roommate, too.

No wrong moves, Greedy assured me years ago.

What if there are no right moves either?

So Wrong is the first book in the Boys of South Chapel series. It is a steamy second chance why choose romance. A full list of tropes and triggers can be found on the author’s website.

Find more of my reviews on Amazon under Kayreader
on Goodreads under Kay Daniels Romance
At Bookbub under Kayreader
or you can follow me on Facebook at Kay Daniels Romance

1 thought on “Review – So Wrong by Abby Millsaps”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.