Book Reviews, LGBTQA+, Year of Reviews - 2024

Review – Notorious by Leslie McAdam

Notorious; IOU #5
(Interconnected standalone)

Publication Date: June 6, 2024

Genre/Tropes: MM/Opposites Attract/Vegas Wedding/Hurt-Comfort Romance

Author: Leslie McAdam

Review Rating: 5 Gold Stars

Review/Synopsis:

Review:
I’ve never been more emotional while reading a book. I cried through every chapter and yet, my heart has never been so full of hope. 🥹 Johnny and Kurt are realistic characters, filled with pain and trauma, but the journey was well worth the tears. Notorious is a book for those needing hope in a world that isn’t always full of joy, but these two men will have you believing in love in a way that is new and completely wonderful. I’m in awe of Leslie and the words that she wrote.

However, I don’t want to sugar coat the plot of this book with light and fluffy words as Leslie gives a detailed list and a personalized account of what trauma is contained within Notorious. Before I’d even cracked a chapter within the story my heart was bleeding and I knew I’d be diving in and reading every word. So while every reader has a decision to make on whether they themselves read this book, please know that Johnny and Kurt’s story is written with a ton of compassion, care, and respect and with so much love. But also know that Notorious is Leslie’s most emotional book that I’ve ever read. 😭 I loved it, so please know that, because who also doesn’t love a good cry, but I did a lot of it!!!

Kurt Delmont, a man running for senate, and Johnny Haskell, otherwise known as Velvet the Cowboy who is an adult entertainer, meet and get married the very same day Vegas. This opening sentence would be great for all kinds of plot havoc on its own, but buried underneath who they are and what they do is layers of depth and a story filled with so much emotion. Leslie really out did herself with this book and it shows. 🥹 There is trauma and grief and so much hope and love that is wrapped around just being a decent human being. I think that is what I love about Leslie’s books and brings me back to her over and over again, she humanizes characters in the best of ways.

I don’t want to say more because this book must be experienced and felt and most definitely cried over. Don’t forget the tissues, you’ll need them.

Synopsis:
Picking up your favorite adult film star at a bar in Vegas is a bad idea—especially when you wake up the next morning married to him. Ask me how I know.

Before I met Velvet the Cowboy, the public knew me as an innocuous guy who was running for office.

Now I’ve gone from boring to notorious in twenty-four hours.

The hot stranger’s ring on my finger puts a damper on my political ambitions, since his day job isn’t voter-friendly. An annulment is a no-go, and a quickie divorce would make me look unreliable.

In any case, when I find out Velvet’s dark plans, I know I can’t let him out of my sight. Which means I’m taking a gorgeous, 6’6”, slow-talking cowboy home with me to protect him from himself.

Being with him might light my career on fire. I’m just not expecting it to do the same to my heart.

Notorious is a stand-alone contemporary romance about Johnny Haskell, a cowboy turned adult star who stops to pet every good dog (and they’re all good dogs), and Kurt Delmont, a senatorial candidate who wants to save the world. It features recovery from a mental health crisis, healing from old wounds, and love that takes these two by surprise. This book contains sensitive themes; a detailed description of the contents is in the author’s note in the book preview. Happily ever after guaranteed.

Start the series now!

Find more of my reviews on Amazon under Kayreader
on Goodreads under Kay Daniels Romance
At Bookbub under Kayreader
or you can follow me on Facebook at Kay Daniels Romance