Book Reviews, Dark Romance, Forbidden/Taboo, Paranormal/Science Fi/Fantasy Romance, Suspense/Intrigue Romance, Year of Reviews - 2024

Review – Crown of Light and Shadows by G.K. DeRosa

Book cover for Crown of Light and Shadows: A Fantasy Romance (Courts of Aetheria Book 1) by G.K. DeRosa

Crown of Light and Shadows; Court of Aetheria #1
(#1 within a series)

Publication Date: June 18, 2024

Genre/Tropes: Romantasy/Enemies-to-Lovers/Fated Mates/Forbidden Romance

Author: G.K. DeRosa

Review Rating: 5 Gold Stars

Review/Synopsis:

Review:
Walking through the pages of this epic romantasy novel felt like I was visiting a cross-over world where the elves from Lord of the Rings were attending Hogwarts right alongside Harry Potter. It was truly the best of all fantasy worlds where magic flew off the page, fantastical creatures were everywhere, there was a quest that must be won, and a forbidden romance that burned at a tortuously slow pace through it all. I loved it and I’m hooked!

We meet Aelia Ravenwood on the eve of her twentieth birthday where she is getting ready to leave her home and unbeknownst to her, forever change the course of her future. She believes she will be heading to servitude in a Fae’s home for the rest of her life, but instead she is chosen to head to an elite school where only the best survive to become the king’s guards. This is only the first shocking moment in Aelia’s life over the course of the book where she is thrust into dark and dangerous situations, but the gods seem to look down on her, even when the odds seem stacked against her. Aelia is brave, stubborn, and cares for those around her, even when she’s told time and again that she should give up, and by god…stop thanking people🤣. She’s an amazing character and I loved how strong she was. She doesn’t let anything stand in her way or let the fact that she’s different stop her from succeeding. Her confidence says so much about her and even more so her kindness which could have evaporated with her hard life.

Speaking of confidence, the one professor that everyone on campus keeps a wide berth of is Reign Darkthorn, that is everyone except Aelia. These two are like magnets when they are in the same room, and Reign plays it off that because she’s his aquinance, that he has a vested interest in making sure she’s alive, but there are all kinds of undertones swirling between these two that keeps the chemistry bubbling and brewing. Aquinance my booty. 😉 Reign is also a man of many secrets. I mean, he is literally a guy from the shadow kingdom, so hence he’s dark and broody, but he’s also kind of a cinnamon roll when it comes to protecting Aelia. However, that does not mean he’s an open vault in revealing his secrets. He is dark and dangerous for lots of reasons, but also because he’s Aelia’s catnip too.🥵

So at the end, there is a big cliffhanger and I can’t wait to continue this journey to discover more. I mean…who really is Aelia? Also, what is up with Reign and why all the shrouded mystery? I also need more of the secondary characters who bring comic relief, extra sizzle, and heart stopping moments. Plus…I need more of these two and their angsty, slow burn. I just need more. 😍

Synopsis:

Welcome to the Courts of Aetheria…

An epic romantasy must-read for fans of Fourth Wing and ACOTAR… Get ready to meet your next Shadow Daddy!

A powerless outcast thrust into a brutal Fae academy.
Her ruthless instructor caught between duty and desire.
A forbidden love foretold to spark the kingdom’s absolute ruin.

On the day of my twentieth birthday, a brutally handsome Shadow Fae darkens my doorway and whisks me away to an elite Fae academy. The problem is I’m not Fae, and I certainly don’t have any magical powers.

Despite this, I’m thrust into a realm where magic is as vital as breath and far more dangerous.

Thrown into an academy teeming with powerful Fae, I must navigate the treacherous waters of magical education, summon my dormant powers and battle merciless fellow students to prepare to face the rival Arcanum Citadel across the river. Home to the treacherous Shadow Fae, the end of the year battle determines our fate.

More dangerous still is the mysterious connection with my ruthless, enigmatic Shadow Fae professor. As he begrudgingly mentors me in the ways of Light magic, our growing relationship becomes a forbidden attraction that neither of us can deny.

As my powers unfurl and the boundary between light and dark blurs, a deeper threat emerges: a secret prophecy that could ignite war. The shaky peace between the courts trembles, and I’m faced with a choice that could alter the fate of our realm.

I stand at the precipice, the key to averting a bloodbath—or igniting an all-consuming fire.

Author’s note:
This epic fantasy romance series contains steamy enemies to lovers, touch her and I’ll unalive you vibes, age gap and a smoldering slow burn student/teacher relationship. Content is for mature audiences and 18+ recommended.

Find more of my reviews on Amazon under Kayreader
on Goodreads under Kay Daniels Romance
At Bookbub under Kayreader
or you can follow me on Facebook at Kay Daniels Romance

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.