Book Reviews, Dark Romance, Mafia/Gang/Secret Society Romance, Suspense/Intrigue Romance, Year of Reviews - 2024

Review – Cruel King of New York by Siobhan Davis

Cruel King of New York; The Accardi Twins #2
(#2 within a duet)

Publication Date: May 31, 2024

Genre/Tropes: Duet/Mafia/Dark/Suspense/Friends-to-Lovers Romance

Author: Siobhan Davis

Review Rating: 5 Gold Stars

Review/Synopsis:

Review:
I adored the second half of this duet!! Yes, I was smitten with Joshua Accardi, but I fell head over heels for his twin brother, Caleb. ❤️🥰😍

Caleb is sooo over the top romantic and cheesy…yes, you read that right!! Caleb is ALL the cheese, bravado and ego, and all the things that made me giggle with how fun his inner thoughts were. Caleb was such a wonderful surprise that I really didn’t want his book to end. 💯

Now, I don’t want to take away from the intense feelings that Elisa Salerno felt for Caleb for her entire life. She had finally had enough and I totally supported her through her journey. Elisa found her fighting spirit and when she did it brought out Caleb’s inner romantic side. 😍 Once he took his blinders off that is. It also forced her to grow up which ended up making Caleb work for a woman for the first time ever.

But before we get Caleb’s lovey-dovey side, he’s a messed up sod. 😂 I really couldn’t stop giggling over Caleb’s wicked sense of humor, especially during the darker scenes. He throughly enjoyed helping kick some Irish scum and Italian rats is all I’ll say 😉 and the moments he shares with Gia are both heartfelt and funny. They have already accepted each other as future in-laws, so the ribbing is perfect and usually the kick in the pants he needs.

While no couple has a perfect history as to how they get together, Elisa and Caleb are a wonderful match. Lastly I have to say, the ending to this duet is chef’s 💋 perfection!

Synopsis:

The boy I grew up loving is now the made man who broke my heart.

I had one primary goal in life: to marry Don Caleb Accardi, give him lots of babies, and live happily ever after.

Until he shattered my fantasy and destroyed my belief in love.

His playboy status isn’t the issue. I learned to live with his womanizing while patiently waiting on the sideline for him to truly notice me.

But he never has. Not the way I want him to.

One promise. That’s all I asked of him, and he couldn’t even keep it.

Something inside me dies when I learn the truth, and I reach my breaking point.

This is the last time he hurts me.

I’m not saving myself for him anymore.

So, I cut him out of my life and begin dating.

Caleb sure doesn’t like that, and a switch has flipped in his brain.

Now, he wants me. And he’s pulling out all the stops to win back my heart.

Too bad it’s too late—for him and for me.

Because Caleb has powerful enemies who are aware he loves me, and now I’m fair game.

This is a spin-off interconnected duet set in my Mazzone Mafia world. While you do not need to read the existing books to enjoy The Accardi Twins Duet, it is highly recommended. Each book in the duet features a different twin and his love interest, and the mafia plot carries forward between both books. If you have read the Mazzone Mafia Series, and/or Vengeance of a Mafia Queen, note this book starts two years after the epilogue in VOAMQ. Mazzone Mafia World Reading Order
Condemned to Love
Forbidden to Love
Scared to Love
Vengeance of a Mafia Queen
The Accardi Twins Duet
This is a dark mafia romance, and it contains mature themes and content that is consistent with this genre.

Find more of my reviews on Amazon under Kayreader
on Goodreads under Kay Daniels Romance
At Bookbub under Kayreader
or you can follow me on Facebook at Kay Daniels Romance

2 thoughts on “Review – Cruel King of New York by Siobhan Davis”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.